Home SPORTS Super Eagles starting XI revealed

Super Eagles starting XI revealed


The Super Eagles of Nigeria starting XI against Iceland in their second game of the FIFA 2018 World Cup has been revealed, and you can check it out here.

Nigeria v Iceland: Super Eagles starting XI revealed lailasnews

According to reports, Super Eagles coach, Gernot Rohr has made three changes to his teams starting line-up for their next game in the World Cup against Iceland on Friday.

The German has decided to drop three players from the squad that lost 2-0 to Croatia on Saturday.

The coach did not, however, make wholesome changes and has kept the core of the team once again on Friday.

The trio of Kelechi Iheanacho, Tyronne Ebuehi and Ahmed Musa have returned to the starting lineup for Friday while Odion Ighalo, Shehu Abdullahi and Alex Iwobi have been dropped.

The need to inject pace and urgency in the attack of the Eagles is largely the reason why Musa will start in attack with Victor Moses moving to the left flank.

This means that Iheanacho will take the spot of Odion Ighalo in the starting line-up.

See the lineup below;

Super Eagles starting X1 vs Iceland: Uzoho, Balogun, Ekong, Ebuehi, Idowu, Ndidi, Etebo, Mikel, Musa, Ihenacho, Moses.

In other reports, the Super Eagles were rated as the third worst team after first round of games at the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

The Super Eagles’ opening game loss to Croatia has been adjudged as the 29th best of the 32 teams participating at the World Cup after the first round of games.

British newspaper Daily Telegraph, rated Nigeria as only better than Saudi Arabia which lost the opening game of the competition 5-0 to host country Russia and debutants Panama who lost 3-0 to Belgium.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here