Home News Youths to determine next president, says online poll

Youths to determine next president, says online poll


If the final list of registered voters for the 2019 general election recently released by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will determine the outcome of the poll, whosoever must emerge as Nigeria’s next president has to be popular among the youths.

This constitutes 50 per cent of the registered voters.

According to the commission’s figure, total number of registered voters in the 18-35 age bracket is 42, 938, 458 (51.11 per cent) while those between 36 and 50 years are 25,176,144 (29.97 per cent).

From age 51 to 70 are 2,788,511 (15.22 per cent) while ages 71 and above is 3,100,971, which is about 3.69 per cent.

The implication of the figures is that Nigeria’s next president must be able to win the support of people between age 18 and 50 years old in next month’s election.

The postulation was corroborated by the results of a recent poll where younger candidates that seem to be preferred by the youths defeated presidential candidates of the two main parties, All Progressives Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

In the seven-day online poll on twitter, for Nigerians to vote for their choice candidates, the final result, as displayed on the website of the organisers, Nigerian Youth Decide (http://www.nigerianyouthdecide.org) shows the respective winners of each of the eight categories into which the 30 nominated presidential candidates were grouped.

However, based on the percentage of each candidate’s votes compared to the total votes cast, the top 10 candidate with the highest voters are David Esosa Ize-Iyamu of Better Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP) who polled 33.67 % followed by Omoyele Sowore of African Action Congress (AAC) who scored 18.7 %.

Candidate of Alliance for New Nigeria (ANN), Mr. Fela Durotoye came third with 16.59 % followed by President Muhammadu Buhari of APC who polled 8.97 %.

Others are Prof. Kingsley Moghalu of YPP (3.95 %), Tope Fashua of ANRP (3.94 %), Alhaji Atiku Abubakar of PDP (3.58%), Oby Ezekwesili, ACPN (1.39 %), Ahmed Buhari of SNP (1.24 %) and Rev. Chris Okotie of FDP (1.16 %).

Download Jarahgist App   Thanks for your regular visit and support towards Jarahgist.com. There is a really exciting offer that awaits you, You stand a chance to win 1K every week! All you have to do is submits news articles of activities happening around you. You also stand a chance to be a writer on Jarahgist.com if you win four time consecutively. Posts or write-ups are subjected to review before approval to appear on our site (Terms and condition applied) Ready to submit? Email us: Jarahgist@gmail.com Or WhatsApp 08129469905


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here